Drive innovation for a secure, affordable, clean energy future

About us

We are an industry led collaborative research centre established in 2020 with $68.5M of Commonwealth funding.

The remainder of our resources come from our 90 partners who cover the whole value chain from end user back to network, technology companies, governments, and many of Australia’s leading energy researchers. We will invest $350m of resources over 10 years to catalyse lower energy costs and a substantial reduction in carbon emissions.

The research is organised in four programs: RACE for Business, RACE for Homes, RACE for Networks and RACE for Everyone (covering cross-sectoral issues). RACE’s research learnings will be driven into the market through our market transformation programs to deliver our targets of reducing energy costs, cut carbon emissions and increase customer load flexibility to allow increased penetration of renewables in the grid and increased reliability.

We want our legacy to be transformative and sustainable change in energy services and carbon emissions.

RACE for 2030 Strategy – 2020-21 Read More

Our Board

Louise Sylvan AM FAICD


Louise is an Adjunct Professor at the University of Sydney, Chair of Energy Consumers Australia, a director of the Australian Risk Policy Institute and Vice-Chair of the Australian Advisory Board on Impact Investment.

She was previously CEO for the Australian National Preventative Health Agency, a Commissioner of the Productivity Commission, and Deputy Chair of the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission.

Louise has also been Chief Executive of CHOICE-Australian Consumers’ Association, President of the global body Consumers International and served six years on the Prime Minister’s Economic Planning Advisory Council. Louise is also the Deputy Chair of Impact Investing Australia’s Innovation and Outcomes Working Group.

Katherine Woodthorpe AO

Deputy Chair

Katherine is an experienced, non-executive director, who has served for 19 years on the boards of a variety of organisations, including ASX listed companies, government boards, not-for-profit organisations, and research institutions like the Olivia Newton John Cancer Research Institute. She has a strong track record in a broad range of technology-focused industries including healthcare, the environment and data analytics.

​ Katherine currently Chairs the Antarctic Climate and Ecosystems Cooperative Research Centre, The Hearing Cooperative Research Centre and Fishburners, which is Australia’s largest co-working space for tech start-ups. Katherine was recently appointed by the Prime Minister to Chair the new National Climate Science Advisory Committee.

Catherine Cooper LLB, GDLP, FAICD

Board Member

Catherine is an experienced non-executive director having served on a significant number of boards for over 20 years. Career highlights include the establishment of a national joint venture Rural Bank, being a Telstra Business Woman of the Year finalist twice, inclusion in an international management program, and winning a position in the ASX Top 200 Chairman’s Mentoring program run by the AICD.

Catherine’s current and past board roles include Energy Consumers Australia, Beston Global Foods (ASX), Deputy Chair of Australian Eggs RDC, Wine Australia RDC, Animal Health Australia, Energy Advocacy Panel member, Chair of SA EPA, Director of the newly formed Grains Australia and as a Commissioner of the Australian Fisheries Management Authority.

Catherine is very experienced in research development, strategy, evaluation and achieving commercial adaptation outcomes. A significant part of her board portfolio is with national RDC and CRC organisations. In addition, her strategic governance and risk management skills are well established.

Ivor Frischknecht

Board Member

Ivor is an experienced Chief Executive Officer and Non Executive Director with demonstrated success working at the intersection of energy and climate, innovation and investment.

He was responsible of the Australian Renewable Energy Agency and oversaw its $2.1 billion portfolio for 6 years, during which invested in 300+ groundbreaking clean energy projects. He is currently helping to establish CleanCo and C4NET, both as non-executive director.

Simon Smith

Board Member

Simon is now working as a principal consultant and has previously served as CEO/Secretary of large public sector entities across industry policy, vocational education, natural resources, environment, finance and first minister's portfolios.

Simon is a specialist in government decision-making, policy development, regulatory reform and implementation, public sector performance, unsolicited proposals, commercial negotiations, crisis management and problem solving.

Our Team


Jonathan Jutsen


Jon has been a leader in energy and carbon management for over 40 years. He was co-founder and led the Australian Alliance for Energy Productivity for nearly 10 years as Chair and CEO. He founded and led Energetics for over 20 years plus 10 years focused on innovation, including establishing an energy tech start-up with VC funding which he took to the US and ran for 4 years. He also had a stint on the Board of ARENA (Australian Renewable Energy Agency). He is a Chemical Engineer with a Masters degree in Energy Technology. He was named one of the ‘100 Most Influential Engineers in Australia’, is a Fellow of the Academy of Technological Science and Engineering, received a Millennium Medal, and 2018 Energy Efficiency Champion.

Research Group

Chris Dunstan

Chief Research Officer

Ariel Liebman

RACE for Networks Program Leader

Dani Alexander

RACE for Business Program Leader

David Hill

RACE for Homes Program Leader

Greg Morrison

RACE for Everyone Program Leader

Jessica Breadsell

Industry PhD Program Coordinator

Ketayun Kiash

Research Project Administrator

Utkarshaa Varshney

Research Impact Analyst

Viv Mohan-ram

General Manager - Research

Partnership Group

Frank Zeichner

Partner Manager

Annie Carapetian

Partner Account Manager

Mark Squires

Business Development Leader

Martina Lyons

Partner Relationship Manager

Dorota Bacal

Capacity Builder

Seamas M Kenny

Project Development & Commercialisation

Operations Group

Thushy Sathi

Chief Operating Officer

Alison Brown

Human Resources Manager

Mylinh Tran

Executive Assistant

Marketing & Communications

Ha Thi Bui

Marketing and Communications Advisor

RACE for 2030 Organisational Chart

For general enquiries contact us at